Benoît Atchom Makoma v. The Attorney General of the province of Quebec and Montreal City and Quebec City

CLASS ACTION REQUEST No 550-06-000030-180

DETENTION OF MORE THAN 24H WITHOUT APPEARANCE

The cause

On June 14, 2018, Benoît Atchom Makoma, represented by Décarie Lawyers & Notaries, in collaboration with JFB, criminal lawyers, filed an application for authorization to institute a class action against the Attorney General of Quebec, the city of Quebec and the city of Montreal.

The application alleges that since 2015, the State systematically violates the fundamental rights of its citizens by failing to take the necessary measures to allow peace officers to comply with section 503 of the Criminal Code which requires that every person detained be brought before a judge within a maximum of 24 hours. The application also alleges that the system in place does not comply with sections 24 and 30 of the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms so that the State systematically violates the fundamental rights of its citizens.

The purpose of this class action is to obtain compensatory damages for the harm suffered by class members as a result of their unlawful detention and punitive damages for intentional and systematic interference with their fundamental rights.  

Group members

The group currently defined in the application for authorization to institute a class action is for the following persons:

‘’All persons arrested and detained in Quebec after June 19, 2015, for a period of more than 24 consecutive hours without appearing, whereas during this period of detention the courts did not sit [due to the fact that it was on Saturdays, Sundays or public holidays]’’

If you think you are a member of the group and wish to receive information on the progress of the case, you can subscribe to our mailing list by filling out the form below.

Under Quebec rules, you AUTOMATICALLY become part of the class action as long as you meet the definition of the group. Thus, no need for you to fulfill any other formality to be part of the class action. In addition, we encourage you to complete the form below if you wish to be kept informed of any progress in this case.

Please note that, for the moment, you have no steps to take or any claim to complete.

The class action is ongoing. 

FOR THE QUEBEC SUPERIOR COURT’S DECISION OF AUTHORIZATION

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Phone: 819-770-6666 #201



REGISTRATION TO THE CLASS ACTION

NOTICE REGARDING THE REGISTRATION FORM

We are asking you to complete and send us the following registration form.

However, please note that although the information you provide to us may be useful in the pursuit of our class action, we will not necessarily proceed to a detailed analysis of each particular case. Likewise, the fact of sending us this form does not assure you of any compensation whatsoever. A claim process will eventually be put in place in the event of a favorable outcome.

Indeed, it will ultimately be up to the Court to decide on the merits of the class action and the terms of compensation. Furthermore, the definition of the group may be amended in the course of the proceeding, which could result in you being excluded from the target group.

We will try to communicate any favorable end result by e-mail to the members of the group whose contact details we received. However, we invite you to stay informed through our website as well as through the newspapers as any favorable decision will be the subject of a notice published in newspapers

We will try to communicate any favorable end result by e-mail to the members of the group whose contact details we received. However, we invite you to stay informed through our website as well as through the newspapers as any favorable decision will be the subject of a notice published in newspapers

MEMBER CONTACT

First Name
Name

Date of Birth

Date of Birth

Current Address

Email

Phone number (1)

Phone number (2)

Language of correspondence

Would you be willing to testify?

Place where detention of more than 24 hours has taken place

Date and time of arrest (if known)

Date and time of appearance (if known)

CONTACT OF A RELATIVE

First Name
Name

Address

Email

Phone Number (1)

Phone Number (2)

Language of correspondence

Relation with the member (mother, father, friend, other representative)

Authorization to obtain your file


In the course of the class action, we may be able to obtain a copy of your file from the Directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales and from the police force that made the arrest. Your file with these authorities will contain information to establish the length of your detention prior to your appearance. This information may be useful to us in the course of the class action and may be used by you at a later date to file a claim in the event of a favorable judgment or settlement agreement. By clicking the ‘’submit’’ button below, which will act as your electronic signature, you authorize Décarie Lawyers & Notaries to obtain a copy of your file from the competent authorities. If you do not wish to give us permission, please check the box below.

DÉTENTION DE PLUS DE 24H SANS COMPARUTION

La cause

Le 14 juin 2018, Benoît Atchom Makoma, représenté par Décarie Avocats Notaires, en collaboration avec Benoît et Barrière, avocats inc., a déposé une demande d’autorisation d’exercer une action collective contre le Procureur général du Québec, la Ville de Québec et la Ville de Montréal.

La demande allègue que depuis 2015, l’État viole de façon systémique les droits fondamentaux de ses citoyens en ne prenant pas les mesures nécessaires afin de permettre aux agents de la paix de respecter l’article 503 du Code criminel qui exige que toute personne détenue soit conduite devant un juge dans un délai maximal de 24 heures. La demande allègue que le système en place ne respecte les articles 24 et 30 de la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne de sorte que l’État viole de façon systémique les droits fondamentaux de ses citoyens.

Cette action collective vise à obtenir des dommages-intérêts compensatoires pour le préjudice subi par les membres du groupe en conséquence de leur détention illégale et des dommages-intérêts punitifs pour l’atteinte intentionnelle et systémique à leurs droits fondamentaux.

Les membres du groupe

Le groupe présentement défini dans la demande d’autorisation d’exercer une action collective vise les personnes suivantes :

« Toutes personnes arrêtée et maintenue en détention au Québec après le 19 juin 2015, pour une période de plus de 24 heures consécutives sans comparaître, alors que pendant cette période de détention les tribunaux ne siégeaient pas [en raison du fait qu’il s’agissait de samedis, dimanches ou de jours fériés] »

Si vous pensez être membre du groupe et souhaitez recevoir de l’information sur l’avancée du dossier, vous pouvez vous inscrire à notre liste d’envoi en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.

POUR PLUS DE RENSEIGNEMENTS

Téléphone : 819-770-6666 poste 211



INSCRIPTION À L'ACTION COLLECTIVE

AVIS CONCERNANT LE FORMULAIRE D'INSCRIPTION

Nous vous demandons de compléter et de nous envoyer le présent formulaire d'inscription.

Cependant, prenez note que bien que l'information que vous nous fournissez puisse nous être utile dans la poursuite de notre recours, nous ne procéderons pas nécessairement à une analyse détaillée de chaque cas particulier. De même, le fait de nous transmettre ce formulaire ne vous assure aucunement de recevoir une indemnité quelconque. Un processus de réclamation sera éventuellement mis en place dans l'éventualité d'un résultat favorable.

En effet, il reviendra ultimement au tribunal de décider du bien fondé du recours et des modalités d'indemnisation. De plus, la définition du groupe pourra être modifiée en cours de l'instance, ce qui pourrait avoir comme conséquence de vous exclure du groupe visé.

Nous tenterons de communiquer tout résultat final favorable par courrier électronique aux personnes membres du groupe dont nous avons les coordonnées. Toutefois, nous vous invitons à vous tenir informés par le biais de notre site web ainsi que par le biais des journaux car toute décision favorable fera l'objet d'un avis publié dans les journaux.

Nous vous remercions de votre intérêt pour notre action collective et nous vous invitons à nous faire part de tout changement de vos coordonnées. Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l'expression de nos salutations distinguées

COORDONNÉES DU MEMBRES

Prénom
Nom

Date de naissance

Numéro d'assurance sociale

Adresse acutelle

Courriel

Téléphone (1)

Téléphone (2)

Langue de correspondance

Seriez-vous prêt à témoigner ?

Lieu où la détention de plus de 24h a eu lieu

Date de l’arrestation et heure de l’arrestation (si connue)

Date et heure de la comparution (si connue)

Coordonnées d’une personne contact

Prénom
Nom

Adresse

Courriel

Téléphone (1)

Téléphone (2)

Langue de correspondance

Lien de la personne contact avec le membre (mère, père, ami ou autre représentant)

Autorisation d’obtenir votre dossier


Dans le cadre de l’exercice de l’action collective, il est possible que nous soyons en mesure d’obtenir une copie de votre dossier auprès du Directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales et du corps policier ayant procédé à votre arrestation. Votre dossier auprès de ces autorités contiendra l’information permettant d’établir la durée de votre détention préalablement à votre comparution. Cette information pourrait nous être utile dans le cadre du recours et elle pourrait être utilisé par vous ultérieurement afin de produire une réclamation advenant un jugement favorable ou une entente de règlement. En appuyant sur le bouton «  soumettre  » ci-dessous, lequel fera office de votre signature électronique, vous autorisez DÉCARIE INC. à obtenir une copie de votre dossier auprès des autorités compétentes. Si vous ne souhaitez pas nous donner cette autorisation, veuillez cocher la case ci-dessous.